Skip to Content

Committee structure

Find out what is being discussed at Council, Cabinet and Committee meetings which are open to members of the public.

Some reports will not be available to the public as they contain exempt information; details of such reports will be provided on the agenda.

Agendas, reports and minutes relating to meetings of the County Council and its committees are considered part of the Council’s internal business. Agenda front sheets and minutes of meetings are available in Welsh from May 2017 (January 2017 for Cabinet and County Council)..

Flintshire County Council

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Meetings of the Council are normally open to the public.  Here Councillors decide the Council’s overall policies and set the budget each year.


The business to be considered by the Cabinet is published in the forward work programme. Meetings of the Cabinet, Overview and Scrutiny Committees, the Council and other Committees are open for the public to

attend except where exempt or confidential matters are being discussed, as defined by the law.


The Cabinet has to make decisions which are in line with the Council's overall policies and budget. If it wishes to make a decision which is outside the budget or policy framework, this must be referred to the Council as a whole.


Cabinet Member



Ian Roberts

Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Education


Carolyn Thomas

Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Streetscene and Countryside


Chris Bithell

Cabinet Member for Planning and Public Protection


Derek Butler

Cabinet Member for Economic Development


Christine Jones

Cabinet Member for Social Services


Billy Mullin

Cabinet Member for Corporate Management and Assets


Glyn Banks

Cabinet Member for Finance


Dave Hughes

Cabinet Member for Housing




Prior to the establishment of the Cabinet at the Annual Meeting on 15 May 2012, Executive was the body responsible for all of the above.  To view agendas, reports and minutes of the Executive, click here.




Overview and Scrutiny

Decisions are usually made by the Cabinet for all issues including major policy matters.  The role of Overview and Scrutiny is to hold the Cabinet to account as a critical friend and to monitor/assist in the improvement and development of the Council’s policies and services.  Under the Local Government Act 2000, local authorities must have at least one Overview and Scrutiny committee.

There are six Overview and Scrutiny committees:

  • Community and Enterprise
  • Corporate Resources
  • Environment
  • Education and Youth
  • Organisational Change
  • Social and Health Care

Planning and Development Control Committee (superceded by Planning Committee - 06/17)

Planning Committee (from 06/17)

The Planning Committee meets approximately every 4 weeks to decide on planning applications submitted to the Council.

The Cabinet cannot make planning and development control decisions. These are delegated by the Council to this Committee and officers by the Scheme of Delegation.

Audit Committee

In accordance with guidance and best practice, the Council has established an Audit Committee as a Committee of the Council to support and promote efficient and economic use of resources and effective control of expenditure and review audit performance.

Constitution Committee (superceded by Constitution and Democratic Services Committee - 06/17)

Democratic Services Committee (superceded by Constitution & Democratic Services Committee - 06/17)

Constitution and Democratic Services Committee (from 06/17)

The Council’s Constitution and Democratic Services Committee makes recommendations to the Council in matters relating to corporate governance and constitutional issues.



The statutory functions of the Committee are:


(A)to designate an Officer as the Head of Democratic Services pursuant to a requirement under Section 8(1)(a) of the Measure

(B)To review the adequacy of provision by the Authority of staff, accommodation and other resources to discharge democratic services functions and

(C)Make reports and recommendations to the Authority in relation to such provision




Licensing Committee

The Council has established a Licensing Committee which has been given delegated powers to determine applications made under the Licensing Act 2003 in accordance with policy adopted by the Council.

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee will have the following roles and functions:


(a)   promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct by Councillors,

co-opted members and church and parent governor representatives;


(b)   assisting the Councillors, co-opted members and church and parent

governor representatives to observe the Members’ Code of Conduct;


(c)   advising the Council on the adoption or revision of the Members’ Code

of Conduct;


(d) monitoring the operation of the Members’ Code of Conduct;


(e) advising, training or arranging to train Councillors , co-opted members

and church and parent governor representatives on matters relating to

the Members’ Code of Conduct;


(f)     granting dispensations to Councillors, co-opted members and church

and parent governor representatives from requirements relating to interests set out in the Members’ Code of Conduct;


(g)   determining requests for representation in proceedings under the

      Council’s Indemnity Scheme for Members and Officers.


(h)  dealing with any reports from a case tribtribunal or interim case

tribunal, and any report from the Monitoring Officer on any matter referred to that officer by the Local Commissioner in Wales.


(i)     the exercise of (a) to (h) above in relation to the Community Councils

wholly or mainly in its area and the members of those community councils.

Clwyd Pension Fund Committee

The Clwyd Pension Fund Committee will meet four times a year.

North Wales Residual Waste Joint Committee

The Joint Committee will operate in accordance with the constitution / terms of reference approved by the participating Authorities.  The Joint Committee will oversee the North Wales Waste Treatment Project and make formal decisions on behalf of the five constituent Authorities (working within its delegated Authority).



Related Pages

Useful Websites

Useful Documents